Gardens and Taxes

The warm weather has finally arrived.  While we did not have the ice and snow that Canada had, the temperatures here have been really cool (down to 3 and 4 at night) and it has been really wet.

Front Garden Before - Grand House Adventure

This time of year also finds me mostly at my desk helping out with Canadian tax filing deadlines.  This year I decided I was going to work on papers for a few hours and then work in the garden for a few hours and then come back to the papers.  I have found the expectation of a nice break mucking about in the garden to boost my productivity before I take my break.  Also, after swinging a hoe and a shovel for a few hours I find myself re-energized and better focused to tackle a few more hours at the desk.  You should try it – stop wolfing down your lunch at your desk, stop thinking that you are too busy to take a break – go for a power walk, sit in the park for a few minutes, do some manual labour (if you happen to be at the home office).  A change is as good as a rest and I am sure your productivity will increase and you will get more done in less time.

Anyway, here are some pictures of the results of my work in the front yard.  The before picture (above) was taken in July 2010 on arrival.  Oh, and I did have to mow the grass the other day – I think I have mentioned it before, but the grass grows all year round here.  However, it is too wet to mow in December to March, so it does get rather long and scraggly.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

This entry was posted in Exterior Views, Work, Yard Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gardens and Taxes

  1. christa Bisanz says:

    A philosopher and an accountant rolled into one. FANTASTIC.
    Garden looks wonderful
    Mom

  2. Matthew Clarke says:

    Looks like you definately have the green thumb!!!

    I have a nice project in Leicester UK if you are free this weekend?!?

    Hope your all well.

    MC

  3. Jim Hunt & Betty Finnie-Hunt says:

    Wow, Will this is gorgeous. No wonder you love it over there. Do you happen to know a good gardener who doesn’t know anything about accounting? The gardens here are about to spring into forsythias; the tulips are shooting up, as are the daylilies. Crocuses are almost finished. Keep enjoying that splendid home. We’re all desperate with envy.
    We do miss you though!
    Jim & Betty

  4. Pingback: 4 Years !!!! | Grand House Adventure

Leave a Reply

